Delaware Sports Zone

By- Sean Greene

   Ursuline sophomore Alisha Lewis has been named the 2017 Delaware Girls Basketball Player of the Year by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association.

   Lewis is joined on the first team by her backcourt-mate Maggie Connolly.  The duo combined for 27 points in their state championship win over Caravel on Friday night. 

   Joining the Ursuline duo are Sanford’s Lauren Park, Concord’s Zhan’e Snow, and Saint Elizabeth’s Alanna Speaks.  Speaks is the only senior on the squad, and including A.I.’s Lauryn Griffin, there are only two seniors among the top 10 players, and only 3 of the top 15 are graduating this spring.

   The teams are compiled using a combination of coaches and sports media votes.  Other than the Player of the Year, teams are listed in alphabetical order.

   2017 DSBA Girls Basketball First Team

   Alisha Lewis – Ursuline – sophomore – Player of the Year

   Maggie Connolly – Ursuline – junior

   Lauren Park – Sanford – sophomore

   Zhan’e Snow – Concord – junior

   Alanna Speaks – St. Elizabeth – senior

   2017 DSBA Girls Basketball Second Team

   Lauryn Griffin – A.I. duPont – senior

   Kylie Komegay-Lucas – Caesar Rodney – sophomore

   Julie Kulesza – Conrad – freshman

   Olivia Tucker – Sanford – sophomore

   Bar’Nyah Ward-Mayo – A.I. duPont – freshman

   2017 DSBA Girls Basketball Third Team

   Ronnasia Blatch-Huggins – Howard – sophomore

   Danaziah Brown – Archmere – senior

   Lynnjay Brown – Dickinson – junior

   Logan Handy – Laurel – sophomore

   Sasha Marvel – Caravel – sophomore

   2017 DSBA Girls Basketball Honorable Mentions

   Grace Lange – Caravel

   Rajene Bowe – Milford – senior

   Kayla Braxton-Young – Hodgson – sophomore

   Lexi Bromwell – St. Elizabeth – senior

   Maia Bryson – Caravel – junior

   Melena Credle – Smyrna – senior

   Rukiya Davis – Sussex Tech – senior

   Stefanie Kulesza – Conrad – 8th

   Mya Maddox – Lake Forest – senior

   Olivia Mason – Ursuline – junior

   Tamia Mathias – Polytech – senior

   Aniah Patterson – St. Thomas More – sophomore

   Ja-Naiah Perkins-Jackson – Hodgson – sophomore

   Samantha Pollich – Sanford – sophomore

{{tncms-asset app=”editorial” id=”39294d40-0167-11e7-aa8d-0b120e39e9fb”}}

What is your opinion?


Twitter Feed

Delaware Sports Zone
Delaware Sports Zone

Our Sponsors